The Right

They say we’re gone
We stand as one
I’m here right now
I’m not alone
Against all tides
We’ll stop the pain
Yet you do blame
They fell for us
With no reward in sight
& now you say I don’t wanna fight??
!
Who told you I
Wanted this one day?
You dare deny
Its gone beyond all shame
!
They’re lying dead
You’re asking where’s my bread?
I say what if it were you instead?
You bark at me “I liked the way it was”
There’s no turning back for anyone
!
Bricks & stones may break my bones
But bullets only leave a hole
Straight in a person’s skull
You see through as he does fall
I say cocktails so what comes to mind?
Not “Molotov” as he bursts in flame
!
The murder is in my mind today
Its always there endless replay
You stand all night
To protect your own
Who left me here?
Abandoned by them all?
Was it just fear?
Or something much more?
!
If they are right
Then we are wrong today
If they’re not criminals
Then who did betray?
If they’re not judged
Then they will judge me
!
Its not enough for them to say sorry
Would you accept their apology?
For all who died
For you & me
I dare not say
Its enough to pray
Not anymore, not after today
If we don’t fight?
Then who has the Right?
You step down now
Then may be your child
!
The Right to feel
That you’re alive
A human being with human rights
The Right to be
Treated equally like all the rest
We’ve already passed that test
The Right to hold
Your head up high
Not bow it down
Fear in your eyes
The RIght to say
I am free
From all the chains
That shackled me
!
So if you want to lose that Right
Go ahead & say its fate
Make me know those whom I should hate
By then it will be all too late

13 thoughts on “The Right

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 38 (Feb 17-23) | Jingle

    • Thanks Jingle

      They all are of course starting from here till “For You” I’m writing about our revolution,
      The Egyptian Revolution 🙂

      Don’t know what comes next hopefully peace, freedom, democracy & Equality

      Take care xx

  2. Pingback: ‘Multiverse’ « The Chamber of Stories

  3. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of Spring in 2011 Awards Nomination Accouncement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  4. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

Leave a comment