To Not Be

I met him on a station

Drenched in rain

Soaking in pain

This man had nothing to say

But surely took his time

His eyes looked so watery

A refelction of all signs

The one that said “Stop”

Just hit me in mind

Old man who are you ?

Why do I see?

There in your eyes

A truth

Lost to me

If its in an instant

Time should’ve

Caught me

Simply off my guard

Would I love

To not be

My comrade on this journey

My partner in my crimes

this old man seemed so wise

He knew which road would take us

Straight to the other side

Hence all my illusions of intellect

Forsake me when I’d seen

Spontaneous by nature

He knew what we need be

Old man how do you know that?

Who taught you what you be?

Within your actions there is

Something I’d never be

If its in an instant

Time should’ve

Caught me

Simply off my guard

Would I love

To not be

As we reached our destination

The old man looked my way

He shock his disapproving

Gazed his sight away

I knew you wouldn’t know me

I feared that come this day

For if you can’t recognize me

What hope do I have but pray

For once I was your best friend

To never leave your side

Remember how you lost me

For I am but your smile

Leave a Reply

