As Is

Spontaneous that is me
Honest to a point of blame
They say you gotta change
I say I’m fine this way
Its just a bit too strange
When numbers rule our brains
Popularity is everything
I think its just a shame
A single click is all it takes
To play this silly game

I don’t need a thousand friends on facebook
Got More than that on my phonebook
I don’t need someone to “Like” my status
Just need the people who accept me As Is

What happened to the human touch
Not stay in touch
When did an lol
Replace a genuine laugh plz tell
I don’t wanna be this way
I wanna see your face
Just imagining what could be
If we can waste our time
Commenting on all those posts online
Why not go out & meet in real life?
I’m sure I can at least make you smile

I don’t need a thousand friends on facebook
Got More than that on my phonebook
I don’t need someone to “Like” my status
Just need the people who accept me As Is

Its a wonder that I’m still here
I can express myself not my fear
They look at me & say surreal
A cartoon character at best my dear
They don’t even have a clue how I feel
Whoever made us this way?
Counting the friends on that page
Even if they’re gone
Instead of the ones we can really count on
The ones that hang on

I don’t need a thousand friends on facebook
Got More than that on my phonebook
I don’t need someone to “Like” my status
Just need the people who accept me As Is

Wanna be my friend?

21 thoughts on “As Is

  1. smart one..
    well done, ๐Ÿ˜‰

    hope you well.
    please considering linking one of your random poems to potluck poetry today, no commenting requirement, I value your support.
    Happy Wednesday!

  2. “Its a wonder that Iโ€™m still here”

    I’m still amazed I managed to leave FB–if you’re there as long as I was you think you’re going to lose all your friendships. But the real ones stay in touch other ways.

    “I wanna see your face”

    Ain’t that the truth. You could write a new version of the Beatle’s “I wanna hold your hand”–for the new social networking age ๐Ÿ˜‰

    This is a clever, fun poem. Thanks for your comment about my Facebook poems!

  3. You have successfully penned one of the troubles of technological advancements: fakeness. People are no longer ‘real’ they just try to be what people want them to be, which can lead to a spiral of unhappiness.

    I REALLY like this poem. Encore!

  4. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 35 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 35 (December 16-22) | Jingle

  6. I’d like to be your friend, because I can see the beauty within,
    I’ll probably never see your face,although we could meet anyplace,
    Honest words have been lost, shallow friends will be the cost,
    You are fun and uniquely real,because you want your heart to feel.

  7. This is one of the best things I have read… contemporary yet a classic cry ‘to be who we are’ in the times that we live.. great job!

  8. how are you?

    let me know after you are done:

    #1: return favor to poets who are here,
    #2: commented for 18 poets NEW to you,

    Happy Saturday!
    Blessings!
    Thanks form the contribution!

  9. Lovely poem. ๐Ÿ™‚ I always find that real letter writing means more to me than those short heys on FB. It seems that technology is even changing the way we make friends; sorta sad in a way.

  10. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of 2010 Awards Nomination Announcement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  11. Pingback: Outstanding Poetry From Outstanding Poets | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

