Gattaca ( Discrimination & Potentiality)

Gattaca ? Whats a Gattaca?

If I’d asked an elderly Egyptian he’d probably just tell me “Gattaca Neeela” which I consider untranslatable 🙂

If you’re still wondering what Gattaca really is (& you haven’t googled it yet ) , its the name of one of my favorite movies. If you haven’t seen it go watch it, yeah now, yeah cho go go go. The soundtrack alone makes it worth the watch.

So you’ve watched the movie ? if you haven’t I’m still goin on without ya.

Who can tell us what we can do? What we’re capable of achieving? Who knows our true limitations?

Is there really a way to measure potentiality? In a materialistic world where everything is measured & verified by numbers do these numbers really tell  who I am? What I’m capable of?

Is everything predetermined? Do my looks, race, age, heritage..etc really have the last saying?

Eyesight .., blood type .. , skin color  ..etc. Some people are just born gifted or more/less fortunate than others. That is a fact but not being a genius doesn’t mean that you’re useless, it doesn’t mean you should throw the towel.

It only means you’re gonna have to take the long road to reach where you wanna go.

I believe that hard work can overcome genius “Where there’s a Will there’s a Way”, All you have to do is carve that way even if its through a mountain.

Don’t compare yourself with anybody, don’t get distracted & look around just look straight ahead, decide where you wanna be & take that first step (believe me its the hardest).

But  its worth it, Accomplishing what you set your mind on makes it all worth while 🙂

I’ve lived years with this written  on my wall:

“In your need to lead go ahead & proceed.

Indeed you’ll bleed but in the end you will succeed”

So are you ready to bleed?

Leave a Reply

